Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022: “Click Chemistry”

  • Awarded on: 5th October 2022
  • Awarded to:
    • Carolyn R. Bertozzi (Stanford University, CA, USA)
    • Morten Meldal (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
    • K. Barry Sharpless (Scripps Research, La Jolla, CA, USA) (two times Nobel Prize)
  • Awarded by: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Sweden
  • Awarded for: For the development of click chemistry and bio-orthogonal chemistry
What is Click Chemistry?

  • The functional form of chemistry – click chemistry – in which molecular building blocks snap together quickly and efficiently