East India Company and Nawabs of Bengal– Old Year Questions and Answers

1. Which one of the following was the last Governor of Bengal appointed by the Mughal Emperor?

(a) Sarfraz Khan
(b) Murshid Quli Khan
(c) Alivardi Khan
(d) Shujauddin Muhammad Khan

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2013]


2. The last Subedar of Bengal, who was appointed by the Mughal Emperor –

(a) Murshid Quli Khan
(b) Sarfaraz Khan
(c) Shuja-ud-Din Muhammad Khan
(d) Alivardi Khan

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre.) 2021]


3. Which of the following wars began the consolidation of British supremacy over India?

(a) Battle of Buxar
(b) Battle of Plassey
(c) Third Battle of Mysore
(d) Independence Struggle of 1857

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1994]


4. Sirajuddaula was defeated by Lord Clive in the battle of-

(a) Plassey
(b) Buxar
(c) Munger
(d) Wandiwash

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2005]


5. Who was the founder of the British Empire in India?

(a) Warren Hastings
(b) Lord Amherst
(c) Lord Robert Clive
(d) Lord William Bentinck

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007]


6. Who among the following has been called a “Heaven Born General”?

(a) Albuquerque
(b) Robert Clive
(c) Francois Dupleix
(d) Lord Cornwallis

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2009]


7. Who founded the Asiatic Society of Bengal in Calcutta in 1784?

(a) Jonathan Duncan
(b) William Jones
(c) Warren Hastings
(d) Charles Grant

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2017]


8. The battlefield of Plassey is situated in –

(a) Bihar
(b) Andhra Pradesh
(c) Orissa
(d) West Bengal

[Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Pre) 2010]


9. The Battle of Plassey was fought in the year.

(a) 1761
(b) 1757
(c) 1760
(d) 1764

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007, M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2006]


10. Which of the following shifted his capital from Murshidabad to Munger?

(a) Alivardi Khan
(b) Siraj-ud-Daula
(c) Mir Jafar
(d) Mir Qasim

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2005, U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2003]


11. The most decisive battle that led to the establishment of the supremacy of the British in India was  :

(a) The Battle of Buxar
(b) The Battle of Plassey
(c) The Battle of Wandiwash
(d) The Third Battle of Panipat

[U.P.P.C.S.(Pre) 2003, U.P. U.D.A./ L.D.A. (Pre) 2002, U.P.P.C.S.(Pre) 1990]


12. Who was the ruler of Delhi at the time of the battle of Buxar?

(a) Aurangzeb
(b) Shah Alam I
(c) Bahadur Shah Zafar
(d) Shah Alam II

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2005]


13. Who was the Nawab of Bengal when the Battle of Buxar was fought?

(a) Sirajuddaula
(b) Mir Jafar
(c) Mir Qasim
(d) Najm Ud Daula

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2016]


14. Out of the following, the most decisive battle fought by the English East India Company was

(a) Battle of Buxar
(b) Battle of Plassey
(c) First Anglo-Sikh War
(d) First Anglo-Mysore War

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2016]


15. The first decisive military success of the English East India Company in India is marked by –

(a) Battle of Buxar
(b) Battle of Plassey
(c) Battle of Panipat
(d) Battle of Haldighati

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2008]


16. Which one of the following is considered to be the most significant battle in the establishment of British supremacy in India?

(a) Buxar
(b) Plassey
(c) Shrirangapattana
(d) Wandiwash

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2012]


17. With reference to the Hindu Nayab Wazirs of Oudh Sultanate, which of the following statements(s) is/are correct?
1. Raja Tikait Rai was ‘Artha Mantri’ of Nawab Aasafudaullah.
2. Usually there were certain Hindu castes who were placed at the high positions in the State of Nawabs of Oudh.
Select the correct answer from the code given below.

(a) Only 1
(b) Only 2
(c) Both 1 and 2
(d) Neither 1 nor 2

[U.P.R.O. / A.R.O. (Mains) 2016]


18. Which one of the following rulers had granted Diwani to the East India Company?

(a) Farukhsiyar
(b) Shah Alam- I
(c) Shah Alam- II
(d) Shujauddaula

[U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2006, U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2003]


19. Who granted the Diwani of Bengal to the East India Company in 1765?

(a) Nawab of Bengal
(b) Mughal Emperor
(c) British Monarch
(d) The Afghan King

[U.P. P.S.C. (GIC) 2010]


20. During which Governor’s tenure, Diwani rights of Bengal, Bihar, and Odisha were granted to East India Company by Emperor Shah Alam?

(a) Lord Clive
(b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Lord Wellesley
(d) Lord William Bentinck

[U.P. P.C.S. (Spl) (Mains) 2004]


21. Emperor Shah Alam- II gave the Diwani of Bengal – Bihar and Orissa to East India Company on –

(a) 12 August, 1765
(b) 18 August, 1765
(c) 29 August 1765
(d) 21 August 1765

[48th to 52nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2008]


22. In which of the following year, was the authority of the British established over the fort of Prayagraj (U.P.)?

(a) 1790 A.D.
(b) 1792 A.D.
(c) 1796 A.D.
(d) 1797 A.D.

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre.) 2021]


23. Where was the Western presidency situated in the early period of the East India Company?

(a) Surat
(b) Satara
(c) Bombay
(d) Panaji

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2018]


24. Who was appointed Deputy Diwan of Murshidabad by Robert Clive after the Allahabad Treaty?

(a) Mohd. Raza Khan
(b) Shitab Rai
(c) Rai Durlabh
(d) Syed Ghulam Hussain

[45th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2001]


25. With which one of the following mountain tribes did the British first come into contact with after the grant of Diwani in the year 1765?

(a) Garo
(b) Khasi
(c) Kuki
(d) Tipperah

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2002]


26. Which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the battles fought in India in the 18th Century?

(a) Battle of Wandiwash-Battle of Buxar-Battle of AmburBattle of Plassey
(b) Battle of Ambur-Battle of Plassey-Battle of Wandiwash-Battle of Buxar
(c) Battle of Wandiwash-Battle of Plassey-Battle of Ambur-Battle of Buxar.
(d) Battle of Ambur-Battle of Buxar-Battle of WandiwashBattle of Plassey.

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2005]


27. Name the French Commander who was defeated in the battle of Wandiwash in 1760.

(a) Count Lally
(b) Francis Martin
(c) Dupleix
(d) None of the above

[Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Pre) 2016]


28. In the Battle of Wandhiwash (1760) –

(a) French defeated the British
(b) British defeated the British
(c) British defeated the French
(d) Dutch defeated the British

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2015]


29. The famous Battle of Wandiwash in 1760 was fought by the British against whom?

(a) The French
(b) Spain
(c) Mysore
(d) Carnatic
(e) None of the above/ More than one of the above

[66th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2020]


30. Which one of the following pairs is correctly matched?

(a) Battle of Buxar – Mir Jafar Vs. Clive
(b) Battle of Wandiwash – French Vs. East India Company
(c) Battle of Chilianwala – Dalhousie Vs. Marathas
(d) Battle of Khurda – Nizam Vs. East India Company

[I.A.S. (Pre) 1995]


31. Which of the following opposed the British in India vigorously?

(a) Maratha
(b) Mughal
(c) Rajputana
(d) Sikh

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1993]