Partition of India and Independence One Liner Questions & Answers


Questions Answers
1 Which party was in power in the U.K. when India got independence? Labour Party
2 Who was the Prime Minister of England when India attained independence? Clement Attlee
3 When did the British Government decided and declared to leave India by June 1948? February 1947
4 The British Monarch at the time of Indian Independence was – George VI
5 Lord Mountbatten came to India as a Viceroy along with specific instructions to – Keep India United if possible
6 Which plan became the platform of Indian Independence? Mountbatten Plan
7 The British Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act in – July 1947
8 “Mountbatten Plan” regarding the partition of India was officially declared on – June 03, 1947
9 The Indian Independence Bill received the Royal Assent on – July 18th, 1947
10 The Balkan Plan for the fragmentation of India was the brainchild of – Lord Mountbatten
11 The Indian National Congress agreed in 1947 to the partition of the country mainly because – They wanted to avoid large-scale communal riots
12 As an alternative to the partition of India, Gandhiji suggested to Mountbatten that he – Invite Jinnah to form the Government
13 The Radcliffe Committee was appointed to – Demarcate the boundaries between India and Pakistan
14 The last opportunity to avoid the partition of India was lost with the rejection of – Cabinet Mission
15 Who was the Chairman of the Congress Session of Delhi wherein the resolution of dividend India was passed on June 14, 1947? Acharya J.B.Kriplani
16 Who took the passing of a resolution on the partition in the meeting of the Congress Committee(1947) as a “Surrender of Nationalism in favor of Communalism”? Dr. Kitchlew
17 In the meeting of the All India Committee on June 14-15, 1947; who voted against the partition of India? Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan
18 Who sang ‘Hindustan Hamara’ of Iqbal and ‘Jan-gunman in the Central Assembly at midnight of 14/15 August 1947? M.S. Subbulakshmi
19 Who appointed the first Prime Minister of India? Governor-General
20 Who was the first Governor-General of Independent India? Lord Mountbatten
21 The first and last Indian Governor-General of India was – C. Rajagopalachari
22 The last Viceroy of India was – Lord Mountbatten
23 Who was the first Law Minister of India? Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
24 Who was the President of the India National Congress on 15th August 1947? J.B. Kriplani
25 Who presided over the 1946 Session of the Indian National Congress held at Meerut? J.B. Kriplani
26 Who was the Congress President at the time of the transfer of power in 1947 to India by the British? J.B. Kriplani
27 In August 1947, which leader did not participate anywhere on Independence Day celebrations? Mahatma Gandhi
28 January 26, 1950, was chosen for the enforcement of the Constitution because –
Congress celebrated 26 January 1930 as the first Independence Day
29 “Indian Nationalism was the child of the British Rule.” Who made this statement? R. Coupland
30 Who said that “the most notable achievement of the British Rule was the unification of India”? K.M. Panikkar