Congress: Benaras, Culcutta, and Surat Session One Liner Questions & Answers


Questions Answer
1 Who presided over the Benaras Session of the Indian National Congress in 1905 – Gopal Krishna Gokhale
2 In which year did Gopal Krishna Gokhale founded ‘The Servants of India Society? 1905
3 Which leader presided over the Congress Session at Calcutta in 1906? Dadabhai Naoroji
4 Congress passed the ‘Swaraj’ resolution in the year 1905. The purpose of the resolution was – To secure self-rule
5 Swaraj as a national demand was first made by – Dadabhai Naoroji
6 In which session of the Indian National Congress, the word ‘Swaraj’ was uttered for the first time? Calcutta Session, 1906
7 Dadabhai Naroji was formally known as – Grand Old Man of India
8 The First Indian elected to the British House of Commons was Dadabhai Naoroji who contested on the ticket of – Liberal Party
9 In which year the book ‘Poverty and Un British Rule in India’ was published? 1901 A.D.
10 At which session was the Indian National Congress (INC) divided into two groups –’ Naram Dal’ and Garam Dal’? Surat Session, 1907
11 The President of the Surat Session of the Indian National Congress (1907) was – R.B. Ghosh
12 Surat split was led by – Tilak
13 What was the main reason for the split in the Indian National Congress at Surat in 1907?
Extremists’ lack of faith in the capacity of the moderates to negotiate with the British Government