Subhash Chandra Bose and Azad Hind Fauj – Old Year Questions and Answers

1. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose was born in the city of :

(a) Cuttack
(b) Calcutta
(c) Midnapore
(d) Murshidabad

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


2. Which party was founded by Subhash Chandra Bose in the Year 1939 after he broke away from Congress?

(a) Indian Freedom Party
(b) Azad Hind Fauj
(c) Revolutionary Front
(d) Forward Bloc

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2005]


3. Subhash Chandra Bose founded ‘Forward Bloc’ in the year :

(a) 1936 A.D.
(b) 1937 A.D.
(c) 1938 A.D.
(d) 1939 A.D.

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2008]


4. Who formed the Forward Bloc?

(a) Subhas Chandra Bose
(b) Rajendra Prasad
(c) Bhagat Singh
(d) B.R. Ambedkar

[48th to 52nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2008, 44th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2000]


5. S. C. Bose founded ‘Forward Bloc’ in the year

(a) 1936
(b) 1937
(c) 1938
(d) 1939

[U.P. P.C.S. (Mains) 2016]


6. Who joined Subhas Chandra Bose to found the All India Forward Bloc and actively associated with the INA movement?

(a) Jai Prakash Narayan
(b) Baikunth Shukla
(c) Sheel Bhadra Yajee
(d) Ram Narain Prasad
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[60th to 62nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2016]


7. The result of whose brain is I.N.A. and who founded it?

(a) Subhash Chandra Bose
(b) Mohan Singh
(c) Chandra Shekhar Azad
(d) Bhagat Singh

[39th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1994]


8. I.N.A. was the brainchild of :
1. Gyani Pritam Singh
2. Mohan Singh
3. Subhash Chandra Bose
4. Major Iwaichi Fujiwara
Select the correct answer by using the codes given below:

(a) 1 and 2
(b) 2 and 3
(c) 1 and 3
(d) 1 and 4

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2001]


9. Who suggested the idea of the Indian National Army–

(a) Mohan Singh
(b) Niranjan Singh Gill
(c) Shahnawaz
(d) Subhash Chandra Bose

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1997]


10. In which year was the Indian National Army founded?

(a) 1940
(b) 1941
(c) 1942
(d) 1943

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2003, 43rd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1999]


11. The first commander of “Azad Hind Fauj” was –

(a) Mohan Singh
(b) Pritam Singh
(c) Subhash Chandra Bose
(d) Shahnawaz Khan

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2005]


12. Which one of the following persons was not associated with Azad Hind Fauj?

(a) Major General Shahnawaz Khan
(b) Colonel Prem Kumar Sahgal
(c) Colonel Shauqat Ali Malik
(d) Major Kartar Singh

[U.P. R.O./A.R.O. (Pre) 2017]


13. The organization of Azad Hind Fauz was declared on:

(a) 26 January 1930
(b) 8 August 1942
(c) 21 October 1943
(d) 18 February 1946

[42nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1997]


 14. Subhash Chandra Bose announced the establishment of the Provisional Government of Free India on –

(a) 21st October 1943
(b) 22nd October 1943
(c) 23rd October 1943
(d) 24th October 1943

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Mains) 2013]


15. Where was Azad Hind Fauz set up in 1943?

(a) Japan
(b) Burma
(c) Singapore
(d) Malaya

[45th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2001, I.A.S. (Pre) 2000]


16. Which Indian revolutionary helped Subhash Chandra Bose in the establishment of Azad Hind Fauz?

(a) Batukeshwar Dutt
(b) Ras Bihari Bose
(c) Ram Prasad Bismil
(d) Suryasen

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2002]


17. The head office of ‘Azad Hind Fauj’ is situated at –

(a) Tokyo
(b) Rangoon
(c) Berlin
(d) Delhi

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2013]


18. Who said, “ Tum Mujhe Khoon Do, Mai Tumhe Azadi Dunga”?

(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(c) Subhash Chandra Bose
(d) Bhagat Singh

[M.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2000]


19. During the Indian Freedom Struggle, who of the following raised an army called the ‘Free Indian Legion’?

(a) Lala Hardayal
(b) Ras Behari Bose
(c) Subhash Chandra Bose
(d) V.D. Savarkar

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2008]


20. Who among the following established Rani Laxmibai Regiment?

(a) Ras Bihari Bose
(b) Vallabhbhai Patel
(c) Lakshmi Swaminathan
(d) Subhash Chandra Bose

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2015]


21. Who among the following called Subhash Chandra Bose as ‘Desh Nayak.’

(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Ram Manohar Lohia
(c) Rabindranath Tagore
(d) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2009, U.P. P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


22. Who gave the slogan ‘Jai Hind’?

(a) J.L. Nehru
(b) S.C. Bose
(c) Bhagat Singh
(d) B.G. Tilak

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1990]


23. The ‘Azad Hind Fauj Day’ was observed on–

(a) 12 November, 1945
(b) 11 November, 1945
(c) 5 November, 1945
(d) 10 November, 1945

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2013]


24. Which soldier of Azad Hind Fauj was sentenced to seven years imprisonment?

(a) Aruna Asaf Ali
(b) Shahnawaz
(c) Rashid Ali
(d) Ras Behari Bose

[U.P.P.C.S. (Spl) (Pre) 2008]


25. Which one of the following was NOT associated with the Indian National Army (I.N.A.)?

(a) Rashid Ali
(b) Shahnawaz
(c) P.K. Sahgal
(d) B.C. Dutta

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre) (Re-Exam) 2016]


 26. Who among the following officers of Azad Hind Fauj did not face the famous Red Fort trials?

(a) Gurdayal Singh
(b) Prem Sehgal
(c) Mohan Singh
(d) Shahnawaz

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2010]


27. Who among the following had headed the group of advocates to argue the case on behalf of The Indian National Army in 1945 in the Red Fort trials?

(a) Bhulabhai Desai
(b) Kailash Nath Katju
(c) Sir Tej Bahadur Sapru
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru

[U.P.P.S.C. (GIC) 2010]


28. Who among the following was the advocate at the famous ‘I.N.A. trial’?

(a) Subhash Chandra Bose
(b) C. Rajagopalachari
(c) Aruna Asaf Ali
(d) Bhulabhai Desai

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2012]


29. Who among the following advocates had appeared for the INA trials at Delhi in 1945-46?

(a) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(b) Bhulabhai Desai
(c) K.M. Munshi
(d) Sardar Patel
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[66th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2020]


30. The trial of the Officers of the I.N.A. was held in –

(a) Red Fort. Delhi
(b) Gwalior Fort
(c) Amer Fort, Jaipur
(d) Agra Fort

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2019]


31. The famous I.N.A. trials took place in the Red Fort, Delhi in –

(a) 1945
(b) 1946
(c) 1944
(d) 1947

[U.P. P.S.C. (GIC) 2010]


32. Who among the following has pleaded on the side of the Indian National Army officers in their Red Fort trial?

(a) C.R. Das
(b) Motilal Nehru
(c) M.A. Jinnah
(d) Sir T.B. Sapru

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2013, U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Spl) (Mains) 2010, U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2008]


33. In the context of Colonial India, Shah Nawaz Khan, Prem Kumar Sehgal and Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon are remembered as

(a) Leaders of Swadeshi and Boycott Movement
(b) Members of the Interim Government in 1946
(c) Members of the Drafting Committee in the Constituent Assembly
(d) Officers of the Indian National Army

[I.A.S. (Pre.) 2021]


34. Who among the following had not advocated in the INA Red Fort Trial in 1945?

(a) Bhaulabhai Desai
(b) Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
(d) Dr. Kailash Nath Katju

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre)2004]


35. At the Congress Working Committee meeting at Allahabad (April-May, 1947), who of the following members was able to secure a majority for his plan of a Guerilla War against the Japanese due to India’s unequivocal stand against Nazism, Fascism, and imperialism?

(a) Subhash Chandra Bose
(b) Sarojini Naidu
(c) Maulana Azad
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru

[46th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2004]