Provincial Election and Formation of Cabinet (1937)-Old Year Questions and Answers

1. In which of the following provinces Indian National Congress not obtained a full majority in provincial legislature elections held in 1937?

(a) Central Province
(b) Bihar
(c) Punjab
(d) Madras

[U.P P.C.S. (Pre) 1992]


2. The Provincial Governments were constituted under the Act of-

(a) 1935
(b) 1932
(c) 1936
(d) 1947

[53rd to 55th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2011]


3. In which of the following States Congress did not win an absolute majority in the elections for the Legislative Assemblies that were held under the 1935 Act?

(a) Madras
(b) Bihar
(c) Orissa
(d) Bengal

[U.P.P.C.S. (Spl) (Mains) 2004]


4. The province where the Indian National Congress could not get an absolute majority during the general election of 1937 was –

(a) Bombay
(b) Assam
(c) Orissa
(d) Bihar

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2004]


5. In the 1937 elections, Congress secured a clear majority in the State numbering.

(a) Three
(b) Four
(c) Five
(d) Six

[R.A.S./R.T.S. (Pre) 1996]


6. Which of the following elections of the Central Legislative Assembly was/were held under the Government of India Act, 1919:
(A) 1926
(B) 1937
(C) 1945

Select the correct answer using the code given below :

(a) (A) only
(b) (B) and (C)
(c) (A) and (C)
(d) (A), (B) and (C)

[R.A.S./R.T.S. (Pre) 2018]


7. In which year the last election of the Indian Legislature under the Government of India Act, of 1919 was held?

(a) 1930
(b) 1934
(c) 1945
(d) 1947

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre.) 2020]


8. Consider the following provinces of British India and identify those where the Indian National Congress did not form a ministry in 1937.
1. Central
2. Orissa

3. Bengal
4. Punjab

Select the correct answer from the code given below:

(a) 1 and 2
(b) 3 and 4
(c) 2 and 3
(d) 1 and 4

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre) 2016]


9. The provinces where the Indian National Congress did not form its ministry after the general elections of 1937 were:

(a) Bengal
(b) Bihar
(c) Madras
(d) Orissa

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2008, U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2004, U.P. P.C.S. (Mains) 2003]


10. In which one of the following provinces was the Congress ministry not formed under the Act of 1935?

(a) Bihar
(b) Madras
(c) Orissa
(d) Punjab

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2005]


11. In how many provinces was the Congress ministry formed in the election of the year 1937?

(a) 11
(b) 9
(c) 6
(d) 3

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2015]


12. The Tenure of the Congress ministries formed in the elections of 1937 after the Act of 1935 were:

(a) 20 Months
(b) 22 Months
(c) 24 Months
(d) 28 Months

[U.P. P.C.S. (Mains) 2010]


13. After the formation of ministries in the province in 1937, Congress rule lasted for:

(a) 28 months
(b) 29 months
(c) 30 months
(d) 31 months

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2013, U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2013]


14. The Muslim League celebrated the day of Deliverance in :

(a) 1939
(b) 1942
(c) 1946
(d) 1947

[R.A.S./R.T.S. (Pre) 1999]


15. In which working Committee did Congress adopt the policy of abolishing land ownership?

(a) Working Committee, 1937
(b) Working Committee, 1942
(c) Working Committee, 1945
(d) Working Committee, 1946

[39th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1994]


16. Who of the following was entrusted with a finance portfolio in the ministry formed in the U.P. after the election of 1937?

(a) Govind Ballabh Pant
(b) Rafi Ahmad Kidwai
(c) Kailash Nath Katju
(d) Mohammad Ibrahim

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2012]


17. Consider the following reports connected with Muslim grievances in the Congress-administered provinces:
1. Pirpur Report
2. Shareef Report
3. Muslim sufferings under Congress rule.
Select the correct chronological order of the reports from the code given below:
Code :

(a) 1, 2, 3
(b) 2, 1, 3
(c) 3, 1, 2
(d) 1, 3, 2

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2013]