Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election

  • On December 8, 2022, Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Assembly election results were declared.

Gujrat Election

  • The BJP has retained power in Gujarat for a record seventh straight term as it won 156 seats in the 182-member State Assembly.
  • Bhupendra Patel has sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat (second time in a row).
  • The people of Gujarat voted in two phases, on 1 and 5 December, 2022 and the overall voter turnout in Gujarat was around 64.65%.

Himachal Pradesh

  • Himachal Pradesh voted in a single phase on 12 November, 2022.
  • Indian National Congress (INC) won 40 seats in 68- member state assembly and formed the government.
  • Congress’s Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu on December 11, 2022 took oath as the new Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.