Formation of Swaraj Party (1923) -Old Year Questions and Answers

1. For which of the following reason/reasons, Swarajparty founded in India –
1. Withdraw of non-cooperation movements by Mahatma Gandhi.
2. Entering the council and resection the Government of India’s Act of 1919 by not letting them work.
3. Repression by the British Government.
4. It is believed by the Indians that they should feel the experience of administration.
Code :

(a) only 1
(b) 1 and 2
(c) 1, 2, and 3
(d) 1, 3 and 4

[U.P Lower Sub. (Pre) 1998]


2. Who among the following resigned from the presidency of the Congress to make the Swaraj Party?

(a) C.R.Das
(b) Motilal Nehru
(b) Vithalbhai Patel
(d) Pherozeshah Mehta

[U.P. P.C.S. (Spl) (Pre) 2004]


3. Swaraj Party was formed after the failure of the :

(a) Non-Cooperation Movement
(b) Quit India Movement
(c) Civil Disobedience Movement
(d) Swadeshi Movement

[43rd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1999]


4. Swaraj Party was formed following the failure of the:

(a) Non-Cooperation Movement
(b) Civil Disobedience Movement
(c) Rowlatt Bill Satyagraha
(d) Champaran Satyagraha
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[60th to 62nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2016]


Q 5. Swaraj Party was formed by:

(a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Bipin Chandra Pal and Lala Lajpat Rai
(c) C.R.Das and Moti Lal Nehru
(d) Sardar Patel and Rajendra Prasad

[U.P Lower Sub. (Pre) 1998, Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Pre) 2002, M.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2006, Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007]

Ans. (c) C.R.Das and Moti Lal Nehru


6. Who established the Swaraj Party in 1923?

(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Vallabhbhai Patel
(c) C.R. Das and Motilal Nehru
(d) B.R. Ambedkar
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[66th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2020]


7. ‘Swaraj Dal’ was founded by –

(a) Tilak and Chittaranjan Das
(b) Gandhi and Motilal Nehru
(c) Gandhi and Tilak
(d) Chittaranjan Das and Motilal Nehru

[53rd to 55th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2011]


8. Who among the following was associated with the formation of the ‘Swaraj Party’?
1. Subhash Chandra Bose
2. C.R. Das
3. Jawaharlal Nehru
4. Motilal Nehru
Select the correct answer from the codes given below:
Code :

(a) 1, 2, 3 and 4
(b) 1, 2 and 3
(c) 2 and 3
(d) 2 and 4

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1998]


9. What was the name of the party formed by Motilal Nehru and C.R. Das in 1923 A.D.?

(a) Independence Party
(b) Ghadar Party
(c) Swaraj Party
(d) Indian National Party

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2016]


10. Motilal Nehru was the leader of Swaraj Party. Who of the following was not in the Party?

(a) Srinivas Iyer
(b) Chittaranjan Das
(c) Vithalbhai Patel
(d) C. Rajagopalachari

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1993, U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1991]


11. Which one of the following was not associated with Swaraj Party?

(a) Motilal Nehru
(b) C.R. Das
(c) N.C. Kelkar
(d) Rajendra Prasad

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2014]


12. Who established Swaraj Dal in Bihar?

(a) Shri Krishna Singh
(b) Ramlal Shah
(c) Bankim Chandra Mitra
(d) Sachindra Nath Sanyal
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[65th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2019]


13. Who among the following supported the Swaraj Party in the Central Legislative Assembly in pre-independent India?

(a) M.A. Jinnah
(b) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(c) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2017]


14. Which of the following is known as ‘Deshbandhu’?

(a) Chandra Shekhar
(b) Chitranjan Das
(c) A.O. Hume
(d) Annie Besant

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


15. The famous slogan ‘Swaraj should be for common people not only for classes’ was given by-

(a) C.R. Das
(b) C. Rajagopalachari
(c) Motilal Nehru
(d) Gopi Nath Saha

[42nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1997]


16. When Congress leaders condemned the Montagu-Chelmsford Report, many moderates left the party to form the:

(a) Swarajya Party
(b) Indian Freedom Party
(c) Independence Federation of India
(d) Indian Liberal Federation

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2003]


Q 17. Who among the following decided to launch the Independent Party on 16 December 1922? Select the correct answer from the codes given below:
1. Lala Har Dayal
2. Madan Mohan Malviya

3. Mohammed Ali Jinnah
4. Moti Lal Nehru

Code :

(a) 1 and 2
(b) 2 and 3
(c) 3 and 4
(d) 2 and 4

[U.P. P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


18. With reference to Lala Lajpat Rai which of the following statements is/are correct?
1. At first he was not in favor of the policy of Non- non-cooperation but later he joined in favor of Gandhi.
2. Lala Lajpat Rai also participated in the formation of the Swaraj Party.
Select the correct answer from the codes given below:

(a) 1 only
(b) 2 only
(c) Both 1 and 2
(d) Neither 1 nor 2

[U.P. B.E.O. (Pre) 2019]


19. Who was the first Indian Speaker in the Central Legislative Assembly?

(a) Sir Hari Singh Gaur
(b) Vithal Bhai J. Patel
(c) Vallabh Bhai J. Patel
(d) Purushottam Das Tandon

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007]


20. The National Leader who was elected President (Speaker) of the Central Legislative Assembly in 1925 was :

(a) Motilal Nehru
(b) C.R. Das
(c) Vallabhbhai Patel
(d) Vitthalbhai Patel

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2012]


21. Mahatma Gandhi presided over which Session of the Indian National Congress?

(a) 1922
(b) 1924
(c) 1928
(d) 1930
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[63rd B.P.S.C (Pre.) 2017]


22. Who among the following was the President of the Central Legislative Assembly in August 1925?

(a) C. R. Das
(b) Motilal Nehru
(c) M.R. Jayakar
(d) Vithal Bhai Patel

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre) 2016]