Cabinet Mission Plan (1946) -Old Year Questions and Answers

1. Cabinet Mission was presided over by :

(a) Lord Attlee
(b) Strafford Cripps
(c) Clement Attlee
(d) Sir P. Lawrence

[45th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2001]


2. The Cabinet Mission came to India in :

(a) February 1942
(b) March 1942
(c) April 1942
(d) May 1942
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above.

[60th to 62nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2016]


3. The ‘Cabinet Mission of 1946 was led by:

(a) Sir Pethick-Lawrence
(b) Lord Linlithgow
(c) Lord Wavell
(d) Sir John Simon

[U.P.P.C.S. (Re. Exam) (Pre) 2015]


4. Who amongst the following headed the 1946 Cabinet Mission?

(a) Hugh Gaitskell
(b) Sir John Simon
(c) Sir Pethick-Lawrence
(d) None of the above

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2015]


5. Who arrived in India, in 1946 after the Second World War?

(a) Cripps Mission
(b) Cabinet Mission
(c) Wavell Mission
(d) Simon Commission

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2004]


6. Which one of the following had proposed a three-tier polity for India?

(a) Nehru Committee
(b) Simon Commission
(c) Cripps Mission
(d) Cabinet Mission

[U.P.P.S.C. (GIC) 2010]


7. Cabinet Mission, 1946 comprised three cabinet ministers. Who among the following was not its member?

(a) Lord Pethick Lawrence
(b) A.V. Alexander
(c) Sir Stafford Cripps
(d) Lord Emery

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2002, U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1994]


8. Who among the following was not a member of the Cabinet Mission?

(a) Pethick Lawrence
(b) John Simon
(c) Stafford Cripps
(d) A.V. Alexander

[U.P. P.C.S. (Mains) 2016]


9. Which of the following was not a member of the Cabinet Mission?

(a) William Wood
(b) Pethick-Lawrence
(c) Sir Stafford Cripps
(d) A. V. Alexander

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2015]


10. Who was not a member of the Cabinet Mission?

(a) Pethick-Lawrence
(b) Wavell
(c) Stafford Cripps
(d) A.V. Alexander
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[63rd B.P.S.C (Pre.) 2017]


 11. Given below are two statements, one is labelled as
Assertion (A) and the other as Reason (R).
Assertion (A): In 1946, the Muslim League withdrew its acceptance of the Cabinet Mission Plan.
Reason (R): The Muslim League joined the interim government formed in 1946.
Select the correct answer from the codes given below.

(a) Both (A) and (R) are true, but (R) is the correct explanation of (A).
(b) Both (A) and (R) are true, but (R) is not the correct explanation of (A).
(c) (A) is true, but (R) is false.
(d) (A) is false, but (R) is true.

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2018]


12. ‘It made its proposals in May. It still wanted a united India. There was to be the Federal Union composed of British provinces’. The above quotation is related to:

(a) Simon Commission
(b) Gandhi-Irwin Pact
(c) Cripps Mission
(d) Cabinet Mission

[I.A.S. (Pre) 1999]


13. Which one of the following is not correct about the Cabinet Mission Plan?

(a) Provincial Grouping
(b) Interim Cabinet of Indians
(c) Acceptance of Pakistan
(d) Constitution Framing Right

[I.A.S. (Pre) 1996]


14. Which one of the following suggested the reconstitution of the Viceroy’s Executive Council in which all the portfolios including that of War Members were to be held by the Indian leaders?

(a) Simon Commission, 1927
(b) Shimla Conference, 1945
(c) Cripps Mission, 1940
(d) Cabinet Mission, 1946

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2008]


15. With reference to the Cabinet Mission, which of the following statements is/are correct?
1. It recommended a federal Government.
2. It enlarged the powers of the Indian courts.
3. It provided for more Indians in the ICS.
Select the correct answer using the code given below:

(a) 1 only
(b) 2 and 3
(c) 1 and 3
(d) None

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2015]


16. Which one of the following leaders of Congress was totally in favour of the Cabinet Mission Plan?

(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Sardar Patel
(d) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

[U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2001, I.A.S. (Pre) 1999]


17. Which Congress President negotiated with both Cripps Mission and Lord Wavell?

(a) Abul Kalam Azad
(b) Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) J.B. Kriplani
(d) C. Rajagopalachari

[47th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2005]


18. Who was the President of the Indian National Congress during the visit of the Cabinet Mission to India?

(a) Jawaharlal Nehru
(b) J.B. Kripalani
(c) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(d) Sarojini Naidu

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2008]