11 New Ramsar Sites in India

The Convention on Wetlands is an inter-governmental treaty adopted on 2 February 1971 in the Iranian city of Ramsar and came into force in 1975.

In August 2022, India added 11 more wetlands to the list of Ramsar Sites.

Key Points About Ramsar Sites in India

  • 11 new sites included from States: Tamil Nadu – 4, Odisha-3, Jammu & Kashmir-2, and One (1) each from Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra.
  • Total Ramsar sites in India at Present: 75
  • State having the most number of Ramsar sites: Tami Nadu (14) and in UP (10).
  • Largest wetland under the Ramsar convention (in India): Sundarbans, West Bengal (423,000 hectares)
  • Smallest wetland under the Ramsar convention (in India): Renuka Wetland, Himachal Pradesh (20 hectares)
  • First wetland under the Ramsar convention (in India): Chilka Lake and Keoladeo National Park (Rajasthan) (1981)

Key Highlights

  • India is one of the Contracting Parties to Ramsar Convention, signed in Ramsar, Iran, in 1971.
  • The convention entered into force in India on 1st February, 1982.
  • During this year itself (2022) a total of 19 sites have been declared as Ramsar sites.
  • Goa and Karnataka got there first Ramsar Sites, this year (in 2022).
Wetlands in India

  • India’s wetlands cover 4.63 percent of the geographical area of the country.
  • In the state-wise distribution of wetlands:
    • Gujarat is at the top with 34,749.5 sq km followed by Andhra Pradesh (14,471.33 sq km), Uttar Pradesh (12,425.3 sq km) and West Bengal (11,079.07 sq km).
  • Ramsar site of Bihar is Kabartal Wetland (July 21, 2020).


Other Facts

  • The countries with the most Ramsar Sites are the United Kingdom (175) and Mexico (144), as per the Ramsar List.
  • Bolivia has the largest area with 148,424.05 sq km under the Convention protection.
  • Canada, Chad, Congo and the Russian Federation have also each designated over 100,000 sq km.