The Parliament (2) One Liner Questions & Answers


Question Answer
1 In which year was Rajya Sabha constituted for the first time? 1952
2 The Rajya Sabha consists of how many members?
250 members of which 12 members are nominated by the President of India
3 The Representation of States in Council of States is based on – The ratio of their Population
4 The members of the Council of States are elected by – Members of the Legislative Assembly of States
5 What is the tenure of a member of the Council of State? 6 years
6 How long a Member of the Rajya Sabha is elected? For six years
7 Rajya Sabha is called the Permanent House because – It cannot be dissolved
8 The number of members nominated by the President in Rajya Sabha is – 12
9 Who is the First Actress to be nominated to Rajya Sabha? Nargis Dutt
10 Which Article of the Indian Constitution empowers the Parliament to legislate on a subject of state list? Article 249
11 The Parliament of India acquires the power to legislate on any item in the State List in the national interest if a resolution to that effect is passed by the –
Rajya Sabha by a majority of not less than two-thirds of its members present and voting
12 A resolution passed by the Rajya Sabha under Article 249 of the constitution empowering Parliament to legislate on a state subject in national interest remains in force for a period. Not exceeding one year
13 Which State has the lowest number of elected members in the Rajya Sabha? Himachal Pradesh
14 The Chairman of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) is – Vice-President is ex-officio Chairman
15 Which House is presided over by a non-member? Rajya-Sabha
16 What is the minimum age required to be a candidate for the Council of States? 30 year
17 What is the fixed strength of the Rajya Sabha? 250
18 What will follow if the money bill is substantially amended by the Rajya Sabha?
Lok Sabha may still proceed with the bill accepting or not accepting the recommendations of Rajya Sabha
19 Who can participate in the deliberations of Lok Sabha while being a member of Rajya Sabha? Minister who is a member of the Rajya Sabha