Order of Precedence – Old Year Questions

1. Consider the following functionaries :

1. Cabinet Secretary
2. Chief Election Commissioner
3. Union Cabinet Minister
4. Chief Justice of India

Their correct sequence in the Order of Precedence is :

(a) 3, 4, 2, 1
(b) 4, 3, 1, 2
(c) 4, 3, 2, 1
(d) 3, 4, 1, 2

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2000]


2. In the order of procedure of the government of India which of the following come/comes above the Chief Justice of India?

(a) Attorney General of India
(b) Former President
(c) Chief of Staff
(d) Speaker of Lok Sabha

[R.A.S./R.T.S.(Pre) 1997]


3. As per the Indian Protocol, who among the following ranks highest in the order of precedence?

(a) Deputy Prime Minister
(b) Former President
(c) Governor of a State within his State
(d) Speaker of Lok Sabha

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2003]


4. Who is the topmost civilian officer in the Government of India?

(a) Home Secretary
(b) Defence Secretary
(c) Cabinet Secretary
(d) Lt. Governor of Delhi

[M.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1998]


5. Who is the Highest Ranking Civilian Officer in the Government of India?

(a) Lt. Governor of Delhi
(b) Defence Secretary of India
(c) Cabinet Secretary of India
(d) Principal Secretary to Prime Minister of India

[Chhattisgarh P.C.S. (Pre) 2003]


6. In the Indian Order of Precedence, who amongst the following comes first?

(a) The Chairman of UPSC
(b) The Chief Election Commissioner
(c) The Comptroller and Auditor General
(d) The Chief Justice of the High Court
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[65th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2019]