Lahore Session of Congress, Proposal of Complete Independence (1929) -Old Year Questions and Answers

1. During the Indian Freedom Struggle, who among the following proposed that Swaraj should be defined as Complete Independence free from all foreign control?

(a) Mazharul Haque
(b) Maulana Hasrat Mohani
(c) Hakim Ajmal Khan
(d) Abul Kalam Azad

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2004]


2. Who among the following leaders proposed to adopt Complete Independence as the goal of Congress in the Ahmedabad session of 1921?

(a) Abul Kalam Azad
(b) Hasrat Mohani
(c) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(d) Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2001]


3. When did Congress pass the proposal for independence of India for the first time?

(a) 1929
(b) 1915
(c) 1942
(d) 1935

[M.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1996]


4. Before 1947, 26th January was called as

(a) Republic Day
(b) Martyr’s Day
(c) Constitution Day
(d) Poorna Swaraj Day

[Jharkhand P.C.S. (Pre.) 2021]


5. The proposal of Purna-Swaraj was passed in Lahore Congress in the year-

(a) 1919
(b) 1929
(c) 1939
(d) 1942

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2004, U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 1999, 42nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1997, U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1993]


6. Which day was declared ‘Purna Swaraj Day’ by the Indian National Congress?

(a) 26-01-1930
(b) 15-08-1947
(c) 30-01-1948
(d) 31-12-1950
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[66th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2020]


7. Who among the following was the President of the Indian National Congress when the resolution of ‘Purna Swaraj’ was passed?

(a) Dadabhai Naoroji
(b) Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Lala Lajpat Rai
(d) Surendra Nath Banerjee

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2006, U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2006, U.P.P.S.C. (Pre) 2009]


8. Who declared the aim of Congress as ‘Purna Swarajya’ in the Lahore Session of Congress 1929?

(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Motilal Nehru
(c) Jawaharlal Nehru
(d) Subhash Chandra Bose

[Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


9. Who hoisted the Indian flag at midnight of December 31, 1929?

(a) Motilal Nehru
(b) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2004]


10. Who raised the Flag of Independence at the Congress Session of 1929?

(a) Maulana Muhammad Ali
(b) Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Vallabhbhai Patel
(d) Subhas Chandra Bose
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2018]


11. When was the newly adopted tri-color flag of freedom first hoisted?

(a) 31st December 1928
(b) 31st December, 1929
(c) 31st December 1930
(d) 31st December, 1931

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre) 2014]


12. Which one of the following sessions of the Indian National Congress was presided over by Jawaharlal Nehru for the first time?

(a) Lahore Session, 1929
(b) Calcutta Session, 1928
(c) Lucknow Session, 1936
(d) Ramgarh Session, 1940

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2013]


13. The Lahore Session of the Indian National Congress (1929) is very important in history, because –
1. The Congress passed a resolution demanding complete independence.
2. The rift between the extremists and moderates was resolved in that Session.
3. A resolution was passed rejecting the two-nation theory in that session.
Which of the statement (s) given above is/are correct?

(a) Only 1
(b) 2 and 3
(c) 1 and 3
(d) None of these

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2012]


14. The 1929 Session of the Indian National Congress is of significance in the history of the Freedom Movement because of the :

(a) Attainment of Self-Government was declared as an objective of the Congress
(b) Attainment of Poorna Swaraj was adopted as the goal of the Congress
(c) Non-Cooperation Movement was launched
(d) The decision to participate in the Round Table Conference in London was taken

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2014]


15. In which one of the following Sessions of the Indian National Congress ‘Poorna Swaraj’ was declared the goal of Congress?

(a) Lahore, 1929
(b) Karachi
(c) Delhi
(d) Bombay

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2011, U.P.P.S.C. (GIC) 2010, U.P.P.S.C. (Mains) 2008]


16. For the first time, Purna Swaraj was declared by the Congress at :

(a) Lahore
(b) Amritsar
(c) Lucknow
(d) Tripura

[Jharkhand P.C.S. (Pre) 2013]


17. The President of the Lahore Session of the Indian National Congress (1929) was:

(a) Abul Kalam Azad
(b) Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Rajendra Prasad
(d) Subhash Chandra Bose

[U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2010, U.P.P.C.S. (Spl) (Mains) 2004]


18. Which of the following was not included in the resolutions of the Lahore Session of Congress in 1929?

(a) Declaration of India’s foreign policy
(b) Declaration of complete independence
(c) Preparing to launch a civil disobedience movement
(d) Abolition of untouchability

[U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Spl) (Mains) 2010]


19. The Poorna Swaraj Resolution adopted at the Lahore Session of the Indian National Congress was moved by :

(a) B.G. Tilak
(b) J.L. Nehru
(c) M.K. Gandhi
(d) Sardar Patel

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2009]