Congress: Benaras, Culcutta, and Surat Session -Old Year Questions and Answers

1. “A graduate at 18, professor and associate editor of the Sudharak at 20, Secretary of the Sarvajanik Sabha and of the Provincial Conference at 25, Secretary of the National Congress at 29, a leading witness before an important Royal Commission at 31, Provincial legislator at 34, Imperial legislator at 36, President of the Indian National Congress at 39. a patriot whom Mahatma Gandhi himself regarded as his master”. This is how a biographer describes:

(a) Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya
(b) Mahadev Govind Ranade
(c) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(d) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

[I.A.S. (Pre) 1997]


2. Gopal Krishna Gokhale presided over the session of Congress in –

(a) 1902
(b) 1905
(c) 1906
(d) 1909

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2004, U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2003]


3. Who presided over the Benaras Session of the Indian National Congress in 1905:

(a) Surendranath Bannerji
(b) Feroz Shah Mehta
(c) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(d) Dinshaw Wacha

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1999]


4. Who among the following never presided over a Session of the Indian National Congress?

(a) Lala Lajpat Rai
(b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(c) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(d) Subhash Chandra Bose

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre.) 2021]


5. In which year did Gopal Krishna Gokhale founded ‘The Servants of India Society?

(a) 1902
(b) 1903
(c) 1904
(d) 1905

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2017]


6. Which of the following leaders presided over the Congress Session at Calcutta in 1906?

(a) B.G. Tilak
(b) G.K. Gokhale
(c) Aurobindo Ghosh
(d) Dadabhai Naoroji

[44th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2000]


7. Congress passed the ‘Swaraj’ resolution in the year 1905. The purpose of the resolution was-

(a) right to make a constitution for themselves but it was not done
(b) to secure self-rule
(c) responsible Government
(d) self-Government

[53rd to 55th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2011]


8. Swaraj as a national demand was first made by:

(a) B.G.Tilak
(b) C.R.Das
(c) Dadabhai Naoroji
(d) Mahatma Gandhi

[Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Pre) 2002]


9. In which of the following sessions of the Indian National Congress, the word ‘Swaraj’ was uttered for the first time?

(a) Benaras Session, 1905
(b) Calcutta Session, 1906
(c) Surat Session, 1907
(d) None of the above

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2014]


10. The first leader to use the word ‘Swaraj’ was :

(a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(b) Lala Lajpat Rai
(c) S.C. Bose
(d) Mahatma Gandhi

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Mains) 2013]


11. Dadabhai Naroji was formally known as :

(a) Punjab Kesari
(b) Gujarat Ratna
(c) Guru Dev
(d) Grand Old Man of India

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1991]


12. The First Indian elected to the British House of Commons was Dadabhai Naoroji who contested on the ticket of:

(a) Liberal Party
(b) Labour Party
(c) Conservative Party
(d) Communist Party
(e) None of the above/More than one of the above

[60th to 62nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2016]


13. Who was called the ‘Grand Old Man of India’?

(a) Dadabhai Naoroji
(b) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(c) Ramesh Chandra Banerjee
(d) Sir Syed Ahmad Khan

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007]


14. Who among the following is known by the title of “The Grand Old Man?

(a) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
(b) W. C. Banerjee
(c) Dadabhai Naoroji
(d) Motilal Nehru

[U.P.R.O./A.R.O. (Pre) 2014]


15. Which one of the following statements is not correct about Dadabhai Naoroji?

(a) He wrote a book ‘Poverty and Un-British Rule in India.’
(b) He worked as a Professor of Gujarati at the University College, London
(c) He laid the foundation of woman’s education in Bombay
(d) He was elected as a member of the British Parliament on the ticket of the Conservative Party

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2008]


16. In which year the book ‘Poverty and Un British Rule in India’ was published?

(a) 1900 A.D.
(b) 1901 A.D.
(c) 1902 A.D.
(d) 1903 A.D.

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre.) 2021]


17. Which one of the following statements is not correct about Dadabhai Naoroji?

(a) He was the first Indian to be appointed as a Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Elphinstone College, Bombay.
(b) He was elected as a member of the British Parliament in 1892.
(c) He started a Gujarati Journal, ‘Rast Goftar.’
(d) For four times he had presided over the Indian National Congress.

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2014]


18. Who was the first Indian to be elected to the British Parliament?

(a) Ras Bihari Bose
(b) Surendranath Banerjee
(c) Dadabhai Naoroji
(d) Vithalbhai Patel

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1992]


19. At which session was the Indian National Congress (INC) divided into two groups –’ Naram Dal’ and Garam Dal’?

(a) Bombay
(b) Surat
(c) Allahabad
(d) Lahore

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1990]


20. Where did the Indian Congress got divided into two wings moderates and extremists?

(a) Surat Session, 1907
(b) Lahore Session, 1909
(c) Calcutta Session, 1911
(d) Karachi Session, 1913

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2012]


21. The President of the Surat Session of the Indian National Congress (1907) was :

(a) Dadabhai Naoroji
(b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(c) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(d) R.B. Ghosh

[U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2010, U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2007]


22. Four resolutions were passed at the famous Calcutta Session of the Indian National Congress in 1906. The question of either retention or rejection of these four resolutions became the cause of a split in Congress at the next Congress Session held inSurat in 1907. Which one of the following was not one of those resolutions?

(a) Annulment of the partition of Bengal
(b) Boycott
(c) National Education
(d) Swadeshi

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2010]


23. The process of a split in the Congress in the early years of the twentieth century began over –

(a) Strategies of the Congress Movement
(b) Objectives of the Congress
(c) Participation of the people in the Congress Movement
(d) All of the above

[56th to 59th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2015]


24. ‘Split of Surat’ in Indian National Congress was held?

(a) In 1905
(b) In 1906
(c) In 1907
(d) In 1908

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2003]


25. When was the first partition of the Indian National Congress held?

(a) 1907
(b) 1906
(c) 1969
(d) 1911

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1991]


26. Surat split was led by –

(a) Hume
(b) Dufferin
(c) Tilak
(d) Gandhiji

[Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Mains) 2002]


27. What was the main reason for the split in the Indian National Congress at Surat in 1907?

(a) Introduction of communalism into Indian politics by Lord Minto
(b) Extremists’ lack of faith in the capacity of the moderates to negotiate with the British Government
(c) Foundation of Muslim League
(d) Aurobindo Ghosh’s inability to be elected as the President of the Indian National Congress.

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2016]