Communal Award and Poona Pact (1932)-Old Year Questions and Answers

1. Who among the following issued the ‘Communal Award’?

(a) Ramsay Macdonald
(b) Stanley Baldwin
(c) Neville Chamberlain
(d) Winston Churchill

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1999]


2. A separate electoral group was made by the communal Tribunal of Ramsay MacDonald first time in August 1932–

(a) for Muslims
(b) for Indian Christians
(c) for Anglo-Indians
(d) for Untouchables

[42nd B.P.S.C. (Pre) 1997]


3. Consider the statements :
Assertion (A): The British Government announced the Communal Award in August 1932.
Reason (R): It allowed each minority a number of seats in the legislature to be elected on the basis of a separate electorate.
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

(a) Both (A) and (R) are true, but (R) is the correct explanation of (A).
(b) Both (A) and (R) are true, but (R) is not the correct explanation of (A).
(c) (A) is true, but (R) is false.
(d) (A) is false, but (R) is true.

[U.P.R.O. /A.R.O. (Mains) 2017]


4. Which were not allocated separate electorates and reserved seats by the Communal Award of MacDonald?

(a) Muslims
(b) Sikhs
(c) Depressed Castes
(d) Buddhists

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2001]


5. When did Mahatma Gandhi start their first fast unto death?

(a) At the time of the Communal Award
(b) At the time of Calcutta Riots
(c) At the time of Jallianwala Bagh Mishap.
(d) At the time of the Delhi Riots

[Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Pre) 2010]


6. Mahatma Gandhi undertook a fast unto death in 1932, mainly because :

(a) The Round Table Conference failed to satisfy Indian political aspirations
(b) Congress and the Muslim League had a difference of opinion
(c) Ramsay MacDonald announced the Communal Award
(d) None of the statements (a), (b), and (c) given above is correct in this context

[I.A.S. (Pre) 2012]


7. How many seats were given to depressed classes under the Communal Award and Poona Pact?

(a) 74 and 79 respectively
(b) 71 and 147 respectively
(c) 78 and 80 respectively
(d) 78 and 69 respectively

[47th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2005]


8. The Poona Pact was concerned with:

(a) Depressed classes
(b) Hindu-Muslim unity
(c) Constitutional progress
(d) Educational reforms

[U.P. Lower Sub. (Pre) 2008, U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2007, U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1996]


9. The purpose of the Poona Pact was:

(a) Hindu-Muslim unity
(b) To provide representation of untouchables
(c) To privilege the Kings
(d) Reconsideration of Dyarchy

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 1997, 46th B.P.S.C. (Pre) 2004]


10. Assertion (A): The Poona Pact defeated the purpose of the Communal Award.
Reason (R): It paved the way for the reservation of seats in the Parliament and the State Assemblies for the SC and ST people.
Select the correct answer from the code given below:
Code :
(a) Both (A) and (R) are true, and (R) is the correct explanation of (A).
(b) Both (A) and (R) are true, but (R) is not a correct explanation of (A).
(c) (A) is true, but (R) is false.
(d) (A) is false, but (R) is true.

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2005]


11. Dr. Ambedkar and Gandhiji had a Pact called :

(a) Calcutta Pact
(b) London Pact
(c) Poona Pact
(d) Lahore Pact

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007, Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Mains) 2002]


12. The Poona Pact was signed between:

(a) Gandhiji and Lord Irwin
(b) Gandhiji and Jinnah
(c) Gandhiji and Subhash Chandra Bose
(d) Gandhiji and Ambedkar

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2004]


13. Which among of following was implemented after the announcement of the “Communal Award’’.

(a) Lucknow Pact
(b) Karachi Agreement
(c) Lahore Agreement
(d) Poona Pact

[U.P. U.D.A./L.D.A. (Spl) (Mains) 2010]


14. Which of the following did not sign on the historical Poona Pact of 1932?

(a) B. R. Ambedkar
(b) Madan Mohan Malviya
(c) C. Rajagopalachari
(d) M. K. Gandhi

[U.P. P.C.S. (Pre) 2001]


15. After the Poona Pact of 1932, Harijan Sewak Sangh was established. Its President was:

(a) Jagjiwan Ram
(b) Ghanshyam Das Birla
(c) B.R. Ambedkar
(d) Amrit Lal Thakkar

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2011, U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 1994]


16. Who among the following founded the All India Harijan Sevak Sangh in 1932?

(a) B.G. Gokhale
(b) M.K. Gandhi
(c) B.R. Ambedkar
(d) None of the above

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2017]


17. Who among the following was the first President of the India Anti-Untouchability League (later changed to Harijan Sevak Samaj)?

(a) B.R. Ambedkar
(b) G. D. Birla
(c) Jyotiba Phule
(d) M.K. Gandhi

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


18. The first President of the All India Anti-Untouchability League formed in 1932, was :

(a) B.R. Ambedkar
(b) Amrit Lal Thakkar
(c) G. D. Birla
(d) M.K. Gandhi

[U.P.P.S.C. (GIC) 2010]


19. ‘Harijan Sewak Sangh’ was organized by :

(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
(c) G. D. Birla
(d) Swami Vivekanand

[Uttarakhand U.D.A./L.D.A. (Pre) 2007, Uttarakhand P.C.S. (Mains) 2006]


20. The former name of Harijan Sevak Sangh was?

(a) All India Anti-Untouchability League
(b) All India Depressed Classes Association
(c) Depressed Classes Association for Social Reforms.
(d) Association of Untouchables

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2014]


21. ‘Depressed Classes League’ was established by:

(a) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
(b) Babu Jagjiwan Ram
(c) N.S. Kajrolkar
(d) Mahatma Jyotiba Phule

[U.P.P.C.S. (Pre) 2000]


22. Who of the following said, “Mahatma Gandhi like a fleeting phantom raises dust but not the level”?

(a) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
(b) M.A. Jinnah
(c) V.D. Savarkar
(d) None of the above

[U.P.P.C.S. (Mains) 2004]